Made in Sydney…now in Adelaide

Should you be in the centre of Adelaide’s central business district, close to Victoria Square and lucky enough to be refreshing yourself at the Public CBD caffe and bar, then you may be surprised to know that the feature wall of wood, right in front of you, is made from fence palings from Sydney!

So amusing to think that suburban garden fencing material, in this case miscellaneous Australian hardwood timber, would be here, making such a stylish effect. So far from the backyard ball games, unruly climbing plants and countless hot summers in Sydney’s southern suburbs.

It was 2 years ago when I first spoke to Danielle who was looking for something interesting for her project in South Australia’s capital city. I had just started to promote recycled fence palings at the place I was with and supplies were a bit patchy. After estimating the amount required, each piece was wire brushed and trimmed before being packed to be road transported.

Danielle said everyone went “crazy about the wall” when they opened. Since then I’ve used the pictures she sent me to inspire people setting up bars here in Sydney. Also, I’ve had furniture made using the fence palings. See my website for further information and make a comment or contact me to discuss ideas.

Address for Public CBD is 12, Franklin Street, Adelaide, South Australia 5000
http://www.publiccbd.com.au Say Mark sent you.

20140325-224847.jpg

20140325-224900.jpg

20140325-224915.jpg

20140325-224926.jpg